American, Italian, Sides

Parmesan Zucchini Frites

Parmesan Zucchini Frites

Serves 6

  • 3 medium zucchini
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan (or Parmesan & Romano cheeses combined)
  • 2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 eggs whisked or beaten in a blender
  • 1/2 cup grape seed oil or other frying oil
  • Marinara or spaghetti sauce for dipping
  1. Slice zucchini into frites or fries.
  2. In one bowl place the flour.Β In another bowl place the beaten eggs. In a 3rd bowl mix the Panko, breadcrumbs, cheeses, garlic powder and salt.
  3. In a medium skillet heat oil on LOW. If using a larger skillet add more oil.
  4. Coat zucchini one by one in the flour. Then coat in the egg. Lastly dip in the breadcrumb mix. Do not overcoat the breadcrumbs or else it will begin to fall off the zucchini.
  5. Fry the zucchini turning it about every 1 minute until it is a dark golden brown all over.

Serve with warmed marinara sauce dip.

Recipe inspired by http://koskim.wordpress.com/2012/03/26/zucchini-fries/.

Discussion

24 thoughts on “Parmesan Zucchini Frites

  1. There’s a restaurant near my office that serves something similar, and they’re to die-for. I’ve always wanted to try that at home but didn’t know how-I’m saving this recipe so I can. They look amazing-great post!

    Posted by dessertduches819 | May 15, 2012, 12:46 pm
    • Thank you! I’ve tried them too at an Italian restaurant except they slice them lengthwise and serve with Marinara sauce on the side. Yum! Your dessert recipes look fantastic. I especially like your Winesday tradition. Sweet!

      Posted by unwind cooking | May 15, 2012, 2:31 pm
  2. yum, yum, yum! these look amazing πŸ™‚ can’t wait for the zucchini season to start so I can make these…delish! Thanks for the “like” πŸ™‚

    Posted by inherchucks | May 4, 2012, 11:08 pm
  3. Oh, my! These look sensational!

    Posted by Cara Olsen | April 26, 2012, 12:34 pm
  4. Wow! These look so good. I recently purchased a small fryer and think this will be the perfect inaugural recipe! I use grape seed oil all the time too…

    Posted by southbyse | April 20, 2012, 11:05 am
  5. Looks good! I’ve been cooking with sunflower oil for many years now. After reading this thread, grapeseed sounds like a good alternative πŸ™‚

    Posted by Jar Of Salt | April 5, 2012, 11:39 pm
    • Shop around for grapeseed oil (imported from Italy) as prices vary greatly. I love your Salt logo. I use sea salt now – the kind that hasn’t had all the minerals stripped from it through processing. I have yet to explore the varieties of salt. I’m definitely intrigued.

      Posted by unwind cooking | April 6, 2012, 1:19 am
      • I definitely will. Because of the multicultural population of SG, there is an entire shelf dedicated just to oil — canola, corn, sunflower, avocado, grapeseed, peanut, walnut, macadamia and different EVO oil. I haven’t come across anyone yet who has endorsed grapeseed until now. If you like to experiment with spices and salts, and if you have someone coming from Cambodia, check out kampot pepper. The peppercorns have a faint whiff of sandalwood πŸ™‚

        Posted by Jar Of Salt | April 6, 2012, 1:28 am
  6. Can’t wait to try it!

    Posted by Kristin Barton Cuthriell | April 3, 2012, 2:18 pm
  7. I have zucchini, LOL, recipe looks good. I don’t have everything, I usually don’t, but it does remind me that I can fry up some Frites, fries. Thanks for stopping by my blog. πŸ™‚

    Posted by sassyfran | April 3, 2012, 12:33 am
  8. That’s not a lot of oil to fry in. Most recipes I see drown them in oil. This will be a great one to try. Thanks!

    Posted by hotelgeek | April 2, 2012, 5:13 pm
  9. These look delicious! Forgive me for being thick… Zucchini is what we call courgettes in the UK – they look like cucumbers don’t they? I always get Zucchini and Eggplant mixed up? x

    Posted by Gemma Derbyshire | April 2, 2012, 1:37 pm
  10. looks great – is it a 1/2 cup each on the cheese or combined?

    Posted by bombedpop | April 2, 2012, 7:40 am
  11. I see these all over pinterest these days. Absolutely lovely! Why did you choose grape seed oil?

    Posted by filingawaycupcakes | April 2, 2012, 1:40 am
    • Thank you for your comment! I use grapeseed oil for all my cooking because it has a very high flash point which makes it a natural choice for sauteing, baking, frying and deep frying. It’s also low in saturated fat (lower than olive oil) and high in the good fat Polyunsaturated. So it can be used for salad dressings, pasta toss, marinades and basting. Grapeseed oil does not have an aroma so for salads and dressings I prefer olive oil for the aroma and flavor. Prior to grapeseed oil, canola oil used to be my cooking oil of choice until I learned it is genetically modified.

      Posted by unwind cooking | April 2, 2012, 11:32 am

Please Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 594 other followers

Archives

