Asian, Sides, Vegetarian

Crispy Spicy Tofu

Spicy Crispy Fried Tofu

When I saw this recipe (easy to make) I bought 2 packages of tofu just to try it. It’s delicious by itself but a dipping dish of soy sauce could work nicely too.

  • 1 package extra firm or super firm organic tofu (about 14 ounces)

    Fried Tofu Spic

  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1/4 cup cooking oil, plus more for frying
Spice Blend
  • 2 teaspoons paprika or ground chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground peppercorns
  • 1 teaspoon granulated garlic or garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg, battered
  1. Remove tofu from packaging, drain.
  2. Combine all the dried spices and Panko in a bowl and mix. (Not the egg).
  3. Slice the tofu in half through the width (so that it’s half as thick). Then from the top cut into a “t”. You’ll have 8 pieces. You can make 16 bite size pieces by cutting 2 more times from the top. (The more tofu pieces the more work!)
  4. In a baking dish or other shallow dish add soy sauce and place tofu on top making sure all sides of tofu get soy sauce.
  5. Dip each tofu piece in the egg batter, then coat with the spicy Panko mixture. Do this until all the pieces are coated.
  6. Heat sesame oil and cooking oil a large skillet to MEDIUM. Fry the tofu until all sides are a golden brown.

This recipe was inspired by Be Happy Live Well.

Discussion

14 thoughts on “Crispy Spicy Tofu

  1. I will be trying this tofu recipe.

    Posted by Susan T's Kitchen | June 30, 2012, 11:57 pm
  2. This recipe sounds great! My one comment is to consider using low-sodium soy sauce – to me, it tastes the same but doesn’t pack the same sodium punch. Thanks for the like again at The Nutrition Doctor is In the Kitchen! Cheers, PKN

    Posted by P. K. Newby | June 23, 2012, 11:07 am
    • Thank you for your comment P.K.! I think I’ll be making this recipe again soon. I like to use the low-sodium soy sauce from Trader Joe’s (Imported from Japan). It has a nicer flavor I think than the traditional “Chinese restaurant” soy sauce.

      Posted by unwind cooking | June 23, 2012, 12:11 pm
  3. That looks really good! Going to try it!

    Posted by organizedisland | June 10, 2012, 6:16 am
  4. I can’t wait to try this recipe! I use Panko a lot when cooking for my boyfriend or parents, but since I don’t eat meat, I often don’t get to taste it. So I’m excited to try this recipe.

    Posted by Lindsay | April 22, 2012, 7:51 pm
  5. This sounds yummy! I have been experimenting a lot more with tofu. I like it crispy and recently tried a coconut version that was pretty good. I baked so maybe will try the skillet next time.

    Posted by Melanie Flinn (@nutritiouseats) | April 16, 2012, 7:30 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Blogalicious: Crispy Spicy Tofu « The Philosopher's Inn - May 13, 2012

Please Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 592 other followers

Archives

