Dessert

Avocado Lime Cheesecake with Almond Crust using a High Performance Blender

Now that I’m done with my taxes I can do something fun – like post my first ever cheesecake – Avocado Lime Cheesecake. Note that this recipe does not have gelatin so it will yield a delicious creamy texture. Restaurant style cheesecakes use gelatin which give it a more solid texture.

Avocado Lime Cheesecake

Preheat oven to 350°F.

avocado and cream cheese in the Vitamix

avocado and cream cheese in the Vitamix

Crust – you’ll need a 9-1/2 to 10-inch baking pan, preferably a springform pan

  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1 cup honey graham cracker crumbs (6 graham crackers makes about 1 cup crumbs)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into pieces and softened
  • 1-2 tablespoons tepid water
  1. In a bowl combine almond meal, graham cracker crumbs, sugar and salt. Then add softened butter and 1 tablespoon water. Mix together with your fingers until crumbly. If mixture is too thick add 1 more tablespoon water.
  2. Press the mixture onto bottom and up the sides of the baking pan to form the crust.
  3. Bake for 10 minutes. Then remove, let cool.

Filling

  • 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • zest of 1 lime
  • juice of 1 lime

    Avocado Lime “Smoothie”

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla flavor or 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 ripe Avocados from Mexico, halved, pitted, flesh scooped out
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, cut into pieces
  • 1/2 cup sugar

Note: Grate the lime zest first, then juice it.

  1. In a high performance blender (such as Vitamix) put ingredients in order as listed, liquids first then solids.
  2. Blend on low, quickly increasing speed, then blend on High. Push the ingredients down with the wand until it looks like a green smoothie about 20-25 seconds. A high performance blender will pulverize everything, including the zest. You won’t have any zest pieces in your cake when it’s done.
  3. Pour filling over your baked crust.
  4. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Them remove from oven and let cool for 1 hour before refrigerating for 2 hours minimum.

    Avocado LIme Cheesecake with Almond Crust

Cheesecake inspired by chicaandaluza.

Recipe adapted by fragrantvanillacake.

Discussion

24 thoughts on “Avocado Lime Cheesecake with Almond Crust using a High Performance Blender

  1. This looks really delicious! I’m going to have to try it. I don’t really care for avocados, but I do love cheesecake! lol

    Posted by Briana Vedsted | January 27, 2014, 3:51 pm
  2. Wow tasted mix before putting in oven. . . HOLY CHROME! YUM is all i can say. Cant wait to eat it when its cooled. THANKS FOR SHARING 😉

    Posted by shelly | April 13, 2013, 12:14 pm
  3. This is really unusual. I’m impressed at such an unusual flavour for your first cheesecake!

    Posted by Corina | April 20, 2012, 2:16 am
    • Thank you for your comment, Corina! I got the idea from a print ad to buy Avocados from Mexico and it had this recipe as a suggestion of the many things you can make with avocado. (I didn’t use their recipe because it called for gelatin and a different type of crust but nonetheless I became determined to make it.)

      Posted by unwind cooking | April 20, 2012, 9:15 am
  4. This sounds so amazing! Two of my favorite foods, avocado and lime! Definitely going on the list of things to try!

    Posted by Stephanie | April 18, 2012, 7:37 am
  5. Looks beautiful. I never would have thought avacado in a cheese cake but my husband loves, loves, loves cheesecake so this will go on the list to try. I have to ask though, I’ve never heard of almond meal – where do you find that? I probably showing my kitchen inexperience but ….

    Posted by dianeskitchentable | April 18, 2012, 5:56 am
    • Hardly – everything I post on my cooking blog I’ve made for the 1st time. I think your husband would love the avocado cheesecake. I bought the almond meal at Trader Joe’s in the nuts section. The only ingredient is almonds and it’s basically just ground almonds. You might find it’s called ground almonds, almond flour or almond meal. I bought more avocado today to make the cheesecake again. 🙂

      Posted by unwind cooking | April 19, 2012, 7:35 pm
  6. Gld I got you thikining about cheescake and my what a stunner you made! I have had a sweet avocado mousse before so can imagine that this must have tasted amazing. Now you´ve inspired me!

    Posted by Chica Andaluza | April 17, 2012, 11:47 pm
  7. That is the most delicious looking cheesecake I’ve seen all month!

    Posted by Tanya | April 17, 2012, 10:54 pm
    • Thank you for the compliment Tanya! One of your blog posts reminded me of a former co-worker – we had an open office space layout so you could see pretty much everyone in the office if you were on the mezzanine. Needless to say our boss used to call her “The Flirt”. Gosh that was like a decade ago.

      Posted by unwind cooking | April 18, 2012, 12:04 am
  8. Sounds refreshing and summery. Never would’ve thought to put avocado as a cheesecake flavor!

    Posted by Desi Chick | April 17, 2012, 9:13 pm
  9. This sounds amazing! Definitely gonna try it.

    Posted by rachelmaezy | April 17, 2012, 8:15 pm
  10. Looks really creamy! Yum!

    Posted by foodyrach | April 17, 2012, 8:14 pm

Please Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 594 other followers

Archives

