Mexican, Poultry, Soups

Latin-style Chicken and Potato Soup

Latin-style Chicken and Potato Soup

If you want to eat this soup in true Latino fashion, eat with warm rolled up corn tortillas. Delicioso! Serves 4.

You might say this sopa goes well with a cold Mexican beer like Cerveza Pacifico (yum)  … but why not wine too?

I enjoyed with a chilled 2010 Raymond Hill California Chardonnay.

maiz entero (corn on the cob)

First, do your prepping and chopping:

  • 2 corn-on-the-cob, cut into pieces
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3-4 gold potatoes, cut into bite size pieces
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice, plus wedges for serving (get about 4 limes)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano, plus more for serving
  • cracked peppercorns
  • 1 or 2 ripe avocado, diced for serving
  • cilantro, chopped for serving
  • 4 ounces shredded cabbage, for serving

    prepping (believe me, this soup is worth the prep!)

Broth:

(it’s worth the prep!)

  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 1 tablespoon grapeseed oil or olive oil
  1. In a large pot add the chicken broth and 1-1/2 cups water and bring to a boil. Add the chicken and corn and simmer until the chicken is cooked through 12-13 minutes.
  2. Remove the chicken and corn from the pot and set aside.
  3. Pour out the broth into another pot or a heat-proof bowl and set aside.
  4. In the now empty pot over medium heat add the oil, onion and garlic and stir fry for 2 minutes. Add the potatoes and stir fry another minute. Add the broth back and bring to a boil. Lower heat and simmer until potatoes are cooked through about 12 to 15 minutes. If liquid starts to evaporate too much add 1/4 to 1/2 cup water depending how much has evaporated.
  5. While your potatoes are cooking, shred the chicken.
  6. Add the shredded chicken and corn back into the soup. Add the lime juice, 1/2 teaspoon oregano, 1/4 teaspoon pepper and cook 30 seconds more.

Serve soup topped with avocado and serve with the sides of oregano, cilantro, cabbage and lime wedges. Remember to warm up your corn tortillas!

Latin-style Chicken and Potato Soup

Discussion

22 thoughts on “Latin-style Chicken and Potato Soup

  1. Yummy Liuba.. thinking of making this tonight.. 😀

    Posted by Christina | August 22, 2012, 12:59 pm
  2. I love the colour!

    Posted by sybaritica | May 28, 2012, 6:55 pm
    • Thank you! Your blog is the most exotic food blog I’ve seen yet. I recognized the jicama, I’ve heard of cardamom but can’t say I know what it is and first time I see Fenugreek – I’m guessing it’s the green leafy I see in the photo. I have a lot yet to learn – which I fin amazing about cooking always something new to discover or re-invent.

      Posted by unwind cooking | May 28, 2012, 10:55 pm
  3. This soup looks great. Not too heavy for the last parts of spring! I love the corn on the cob inside, too.

    Posted by Colleen | May 21, 2012, 8:23 pm
  4. Your recipe reminds me of a soup that I had at a lovely Peruvian restaurant. Looks delicious.

    Posted by Karen | May 20, 2012, 7:28 am
  5. this looks so comforting and tasty

    Posted by myfangalicious | May 19, 2012, 12:11 am
    • Thanks, Kathy, for the nice compliment, especially coming from a chef. I have 1 aunt and 1 uncle (from my Chinese side of the family) who own and run 3 Chinese restaurants they started many years ago in Guatemala.

      Posted by unwind cooking | May 19, 2012, 1:02 am
  6. WOW! That looks so delicious. It makes me want to go make it right now. Thanks for the post.

    Posted by camc1105 | May 18, 2012, 3:46 pm
  7. This looks absolutely fantastic. I will definitely be trying this soon! 🙂

    Posted by deceptivedomestic | May 17, 2012, 12:06 am
  8. This looks amazing! Just like my dad would make for me when I was young (like his grandma did before him). I’ve never made it myself but I think you may have inspired me. Thanks!

    Posted by Aja Lynn | May 15, 2012, 9:46 am
  9. Looks delicious; love the look of the corn cobs floating in the broth.

    Posted by Sara | May 15, 2012, 5:35 am
  10. I’ve never seen a soup like this & it looks great. Definitely on my will make soon list. Gosh, wish I had some for lunch right now.

    Posted by dianeskitchentable | May 14, 2012, 9:33 am
  11. Looks delish!! I am a soup fanatic, can’t wait to try this!

    Posted by The Recipe Diaries | May 14, 2012, 8:37 am

Please Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 592 other followers

Archives

