Juices & Smoothies, Vegetarian

Pear Strawberries Beet Smoothie (High Performance Blender)

Pear Strawberries Beet Smoothie

Vitamix Smoothie

I was so inspired by the documentary Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead that I started juicing last week. The next day I went to the Farmer’s Market and bought my juicing ingredients for the week. With my Vitamix I don’t just juice – I make a smoothie – so none of the fruit or vegetable fibers are gone to waste. You can find juicing recipes inspired by the movie at http://www.jointhereboot.com/.

My first smoothie recipe:
Pear Strawberries Beet Smoothie
  • 1 1/2 cups cold filtered water
  • 1 basket fresh strawberries, green tops left on
  • 2 beets, peeled and halved
  • 1 red pear skin on, core removed
  • 2 cups spinach leaves
  • 3 carrots, cut into smaller pieces
  • 5 large ice cubes
  1. In your high-performance blender such as Vitamix put in the ingredients in the order listed above – liquids first, followed by soft ingredients then hard ingredients last. If ingredients do not fit top the blender until full, blend on low and push the ingredients down with the wand then add the remainder ingredients.
  2. Start on low – use your want to push down the ingredients – then increase speed to High Speed and blend until smooth about 15 seconds. Refrigerate left over but finish all your smoothie the same day.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Pear Strawberries Beet Smoothie (High Performance Blender)

  1. This looks like a *really* delicious recipe ~ though I tend to prefer whole foods as the foundation of my diet this sounds like a real treat! Yummy!

    Posted by P. K. Newby | June 24, 2012, 10:10 am
  2. My mum and dad went straight on a 12 day juice fast after watching that documentary! I mix my week up – some days I make a cold-pressed juice, others I make a green smoothie in my blender. It’s such a great way to get mega nutrients in one hit!

    Posted by informedmama | June 22, 2012, 2:49 am
    • Amazing how the video has touched so many lives. We’re not juice fasting 100%. I can’t go without having a dinner. However, I do so enjoy seeing the wonderful cupcakes on these blogs. I could probably eat 5 of them in one sitting. Good thing I don’t buy or make cupcakes.

      Posted by unwind cooking | June 23, 2012, 1:28 am
  3. The documentary Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead, inspired my husband to start juicing and making smoothies. He lost 15 pounds, got off of his high blood pressure medication, stopped snoring and no longer needs his sleep apnea machine! Thanks for the recipe.

    Posted by creatingahealthylifestyle | June 21, 2012, 5:32 pm

Please Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 592 other followers

Archives

