Italian, Seafood, Wine

Sake Shrimp Scampi

sake shrimp scampi

sake shrimp scampi

No white wine, but I had a bottle of chilled sake in the fridge. Need I say? This dish was scrumptious! Serves 2 or 3.

  • 4 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 1/2 pounds medium or large shrimp, thawed, peeled and deveined (tails can be left on)
  • 5 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup sake
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  1. In a large non-stick skillet heat oil to medium-high. Add shrimp and cook 2-3 minutes each side. Reduce heat to medium. Add garlic, cook and stir for 60 seconds. Remove shrimp with slotted spoon to a platter.
  2. Add all remaining ingredients to skillet, increase heat to medium-high and bring to a boil. Simmer until reduced 8 to 10 minutes. Add shrimp back to skillet for last 60 seconds of reduction.
  3. Serve immediately on a warmed platter.
Discussion

11 thoughts on “Sake Shrimp Scampi

  1. Looks really Delicious. I wonder how this will taste with Sweetend Sake? Only one way to find out 😀 .

    Posted by Wildfire Phoenix | December 20, 2014, 6:53 am
  2. Sake is a wonderful idea! I bet it’s delicious to mop up those juices with some crusty bread. Yum!

    Posted by Anne | December 11, 2012, 12:12 am
  3. Very beautiful dish. I have to say I’ve only had sake in a drink one time…and they used a heavy pour – Whoa! I’ll bet it’s super with shrimp & I’m waiting to make my shellfish dishes again – husband’s got the rash thing going & they know it’s an allergy, just don’t know what allergy. Let’s see…could be any of 1,788,343,439 things — but they started with seafood.

    Posted by dianeskitchentable | December 10, 2012, 12:37 pm
    • Thanks – I can’t wait to make this dish again! Allergies are so hard to diagnose the cause. I’ve been getting hives for 2+ years and have been tested by expert Allergist doctors and they can’t find the cause. At least the allergist concluded that the cause is not food. Oh well. Unfortunately we live in a toxic world so who knows it could be toxins that have accumulated in the body over the years.

      Posted by Unwind Cooking | CA Realtor | December 10, 2012, 12:52 pm
      • Over 2 years & they still haven’t pinned it down? I’m afraid this is what my husband’s going to be dealing with. They did a biopsy & it did come back as “an allergy” but as you say, there’s so many it could be. I had the allergy skin tests done years ago & had over 28 reactions but really, dogs & cats? I don’t worry about that but I did get shots for years for the bee sting allergy – that one was serious. I just don’t think it’s seafood & I’m guessing his is a contact thing so I’ve changed the detergent for washing clothes.

        Posted by dianeskitchentable | December 10, 2012, 1:44 pm
  4. Sounds delis! Looks amazing! I have a bottle of Sake a friend just brought us from Japan, perfect timing!

    Posted by For The Love of Food | December 10, 2012, 9:17 am
  5. This sounds really fantastic!
    Kenley

    Posted by Green Door Hospitality | December 10, 2012, 8:53 am

Please Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 594 other followers

Archives

