Dressings, Italian, Pasta, Seafood

Lemon Pepper Shrimp Pasta with Arugula Pesto

Arugula Pesto Linguine

Arugula Pesto Linguine

I used 8 ounces (227 g) of linguine which serves 4.

Shrimp Lemon Pepper Marinade

  • 2 pounds shrimp, thawed, deveined, tails can be left on
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano or 2 teaspoon fresh oregano (you can substitute with parsley)
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  1. In a large bowl mix first the lime juice and salt until salt dissolves. Then combine the oregano, olive oil and pepper.
  2. Add the shrimp and coat with the mixture. Set aside in fridge.

Arugula Pesto

  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoon toasted sunflower seeds (you can substitute with toasted pine nuts)
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan or Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • 1 or 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 2 cups packed arugula
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  1. In a blender or food processor, combine all the above ingredients and blend on low until it makes a paste. Empty pesto into a bowl.

Preparation

  1. Fire up a grill or large skillet to medium-high heat. Grill the shrimp 1 to 2 minutes each side until cooked through.
  2. Cook pasta according to instructions on package.
  3. Combine cooked pasta with the pesto.
  4. Serve pasta topped with shrimp.
Discussion

25 thoughts on “Lemon Pepper Shrimp Pasta with Arugula Pesto

  1. Sunflower seeds in pesto! Hm! 😀 I love it! And I adore delicious pasta! 🙂

    Posted by milkandbun | November 3, 2014, 10:21 am
  2. That looks just my kind of dish …… will have this anytime of the day 🙂

    Posted by Ayesha (Miss Spicy Hat n' Sugar Socks) | January 30, 2014, 10:13 am
  3. Sounds delicious…I like you use of sunflower seeds in the pesto. I need to try growing arugula again…last year it bolted right after I planted it.

    Posted by Karen | June 22, 2013, 6:33 am
  4. Can’t wait to give this a try!

    Posted by Mama's Gotta BakeM | June 20, 2013, 2:27 pm
  5. Oh wow. This dish looks gorgeous!!! Your photography is always impeccable Liuba. Can’t wait to try this!

    Posted by laurasmess | June 13, 2013, 9:59 pm
  6. Well this one is surely on my must make list! That pesto sounds fabulous & is perfect w/the
    shrimp. Definitely going to grill the shrimp.

    Posted by dianeskitchentable | June 13, 2013, 11:17 am
    • My iron grill is the best purchase I’ve made so far for my kitchen cookware. I use it practically every day. I just bought more shrimp yesterday to make this recipe again.

      Posted by Unwind Cooking | June 13, 2013, 11:53 am
      • So I take it, this was definitely a winner in your house too. So is your grill an indoor, electric grill? I was thinking of the one outside (just putting the shrimp in the wire basket). I’ve wondered how those other grills are.

        Posted by dianeskitchentable | June 13, 2013, 12:35 pm
      • It’s an indoor grill you put over your stove burners. Definitely I think outdoor grills are better and easier to clean because they sit over an open flame. My indoor grill is more like a flat skillet but still works well. Just not easy to clean. It’s heavy and the food sticks to the grill sometimes. Maybe I’m not cooking it right. I’ll have to read up on how to keep the food from sticking to the grill.

        Posted by Unwind Cooking | June 13, 2013, 12:51 pm
  7. Wow! Looks amazing!

    Posted by Reema Kalra Agarwal | June 11, 2013, 12:15 pm
  8. I love this flavour profile. 🙂

    Posted by Our Growing Paynes | June 11, 2013, 5:01 am
  9. Looks yummy! Love shrimp and pesto together. Lovely post.

    Posted by Anne ~ Uni Homemaker | June 10, 2013, 3:24 pm
  10. That looks good! I am absolutely going to make this tonight …

    Posted by FancyNaturals | June 10, 2013, 2:57 pm
  11. This looks AMAZING! It’s after giving me an appetite now! Must try this recipe sometime!

    Posted by Jane Cowen | June 10, 2013, 11:01 am

Please Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 592 other followers

Archives

