French, Wine

Coq au Riesling

Coq au Riesling

Coq au Riesling

Coq au Riesling

When I saw Curtis Stone make his Coq au Vin dish on Take Home Chef I thought I could never make that. Was I wrong. I made it and it was delicious! As the ingredients were put together it smelled so good while I was cooking it! I used Trader Joe’s Riesling under $5. I was pleasantly surprised what a great-tasting wine this was. I never buy Riesling and now I’m glad I did. It’s a wonderful wine for both cooking and drinking. Aromatic, dry, crisp with a slight softness to it with complex flavors.

COOKWARE: You will need a large enameled cast-iron casserole (French Oven/Dutch Oven). Typical size French Oven is 6 to 6.5 quarts.

  • 4 pounds chicken legs, leave skin on (buy organic!)
  • sea salt and cracked peppercorns
  • 1/4 cup grapeseed oil
  • 1 sweet onion, chopped
  • 1 large (or 2 medium) carrots, chopped
  • 1 celery rib, chopped
  • 2 shallots, chopped
  • 1-1/2 cups dry Riesling
  • 14.5 ounces chicken broth (1 can) or 1-1/2 cups chicken stock
  • 8 thyme sprigs
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 pound mixed mushrooms, sliced – I used cremini, shiitake and baby portabella.
  • 1/2 cup crème fraîche
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • dried oregano or fresh parsley for garnish

TIP: Chop the onion, carrot, celery and shallots in a blender.

  1. Preheat oven to 300° F. Season chicken with salt and pepper. In your casserole, heat 2 tablespoons grapeseed oil over moderately high heat. Add half of the chicken and cook, turning the chicken legs until browned 8 to 10 minutes. Transfer chicken to a plate. Cook the remaining chicken. Pour out any excess fat and wipe out the casserole.
  2. Heat remaining 2 tablespoons grapeseed oil in the casserole. Add the onion, carrot, celery and shallots and cook over medium heat, stirring until vegetables are softened and lightly browned about 8 minutes. Add the wine and simmer for 1 minute. Add the chicken broth and thyme and bring to a boil.
  3. Nestle the chicken in the casserole. Cover and braise in the oven for 1 hour until tender.
  4. Meanwhile, in a large skillet, melt the butter in the olive oil over medium-low heat. Increase heat to high and add the mushrooms and cook until browned 5 minutes without stirring. Season the mushrooms with salt and pepper then stir and cook until tender 3 to 5 minutes. Transfer to a plate or bowl.
  5. Transfer the chicken to a plate. Strain the braising liquid through a fine sieve into a cooking pot (or a bowl as long as it is heatproof), pressing on the solids and skimming off any fat. Return the braising liquid to the casserole and over the stop top bring to a boil uncovered until reduced to 1-1/2 cups, about 5 minutes. Whisk in the crème fraîche and lemon juice and season with salt and pepper. Add the mushrooms and chicken to the sauce and simmer for 5 minutes. Sprinkle with dried oregano and serve.

Source: October 2013 Issue of Food and Wine

Discussion

17 thoughts on “Coq au Riesling

  1. That looks delicious, and doesn’t sound too hard to make either. I’m looking forward to trying it. Cooking with alcoholic beverages is always a favorite way of mine to cook. 😉

    Posted by Capt Jill | April 1, 2014, 5:50 pm
  2. Riesling pairs well with chicken for cooking. And oh, love whatever Curtis Stone does!

    Posted by Anjana @ At The Corner Of Happy & Harried | October 24, 2013, 6:31 am
  3. Trader Joe’s’ is great place for wine. I’m a fan of them. This dish looks divine. I bet it tastes even better!

    Posted by Anne ~ Uni Homemaker | October 12, 2013, 11:22 pm
  4. Aw yay! I love Curtis Stone’s cooking. He first started out here in Australia in his own show, ‘Surfing the Menu’, with another chef named Ben O’Donoghue who went to the same high school as me 🙂 I didn’t realise that he was well known in the USA? Anyway, Curtis aside, this recipe sounds delicious! I can’t believe that you bought a wine for $6 – our supermarkets aren’t permitted to sell wine over here so we have to go to the liquor store. Always more expensive 😦 Great recipe Liuba! Thanks

    Posted by laurasmess | October 10, 2013, 3:59 pm
  5. Looks rich and delicious. I discovered Riesling by accident too but really enjoyed it – so good with Asian food.

    Posted by Phil @foodfrankly | October 9, 2013, 8:25 am
  6. Oh this looks so good. I only seen it done with chicken breasts but definitely like the legs much better. I should just always but a whole chicken because my husband likes white meat and I prefer dark which I think has more flavor and isn’t as dry.

    Posted by dianeskitchentable | October 8, 2013, 5:16 pm
  7. Very nice idea to replace red wine by white wine ! And $6 for a riesling, that looks like a good price, I can tell 🙂

    Posted by Be Miam! | October 8, 2013, 11:18 am
  8. Oh, how delicious that looks! Beautiful!

    Posted by ohlidia | October 8, 2013, 6:25 am
  9. What a perfect fall dinner this will make. I always buy my cooking wine at Trader Joe’s. Good quality wine for the price.

    Posted by Mama's Gotta Bake | October 7, 2013, 9:36 am
    • To cut back on my wine spending I decided to buy wines under $6. (Really!) I’ve done really well sticking to my wine budget and have found really great wines at Trader Joe’s for $6 bucks and under. Oftentimes better than the pricier wines!

      Posted by Unwind Cooking | October 7, 2013, 10:14 am

Please Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 594 other followers

Archives

